My First Time (at TIFF Bell Lightbox)

I have lived in Ontario for the past 14 years and never ever been to TIFF before. I decided this year that no one else is ever going to take me because no one else gives a shit. So I applied to be a volunteer and got to attend the orientation & got an interview. So that’s where I was today.

The interviewer seemed to disinterested in what I was saying. I kept trying to tell her something she would like, but she just didn’t seem to give a shit. She was taking notes of what I was saying though, so maybe that’s why. Half of the other interviewers just looked so much more interesting.

But guess what, I know I will later, but right now I just DON’T GIVE A SHIT!

You wanna know why? Wanna know? Wanna know??

BECAUSE I MET %+{^[*]+{ING GUILLERMO DEL TORO!!!!

The timing worked out perfectly. I left my interview and decided to go to the bathroom first. When I was leaving, I sat down to tie my shoelace. Then got up and went towards the escalator. Before I stepped on it… He made eye contact with me just as I saw him. And my mouth fell open. He just looked normal until I managed to speak. I really should rehearse better opening lines for the future. Instead of saying that he was the best and my absolute favourite director of all time, I said “Your movie was my FAVOURITE summer movie!”

Summer movie? WTF is wrong with me?

“Thank you.”

“I’m sorry, I don’t want to get in your way and I’m trying really hard not to freak out right now, but can I PLEASE have a picture?”

“Sure.”

He stopped for me at the top of the lightbox escalator.

20130811-154510.jpg

A few paagal kuriyaan (crazy girls) actually just walked past. What the heck. PEOPLE! DO YOU NOT SEE GUILLERMO DEL TORO STANDING HERE WITH A TURBAN GIRL?! THERE’s LITERALLY NO ONE ELSE HERE!!

“Thank you so much. I LOVED Hellboy too!!”

He asked me what I watched at TIFF. I told him I didn’t watch anything and then told him why I was there.

Then before leaving, I told him that he made my summer and that this was the best thing ever.

He asked me my name like he actually cared. What a nice guy. He actually tried to say it? Then said, “Nice to meet you. I’m Guillermo.”

I was like, (still starstruck) “I know what YOUR name is. ”

He told me that he’ll be here pretty much all year so he’ll see me during the festival. And I told him “Yeah, I’ll see you then.” and turned down the escalator because i didn’t want him to remember me (hopefully he remembers me– very unlikely, I know. Dream big. ) as some annoying fangirl. But let’s be serious, that’s totally what I was…

OMGGGGGGGG!!!!!

Anyways, my reactions after leaving were funnier. I felt my pulse racing in my chest for a good 20 minutes on my way

IMG_4043

to Union station. I had to put my IMG_4044shades on because I couldn’t control my emotions, but I really looked like this, and this, and this.

IMG_4046

 

Leave a Reply

