Film Editing

“Argo”
“Life of Pi”: It was good, but I didn’t notice. I learned that good editing is the editing that you don’t notice. I do believe that great editing is generally noticeable though.
“Lincoln”: I think it’s obvious from what I said in the other categories that I don’t like the editing in this movie. Just, god no. Please no. The movie was great. But its editing pissed me off so much. I have no idea what they were thinking about with the length of some takes and not letting us explore setting enough at the right times (that’s actually a directing/script fault). Instead they were just constantly throwing words into my face that it got so freaking boring at points. Daniel Day Lewis is the sole person that took me from hating this movie to accepting it as great. (I did get excited when I saw Joseph Gordon though. I didn’t know he was going to be in it.) I suppose I just lack an understanding for Spielberg’s intellect.
“Silver Linings Playbook”: I loved everything about this movie, but the editing isn’t something I was even paying attention to at all. I don’t recall anything exemplary. Although, it wasn’t irritating either. So it did good.
“Zero Dark Thirty”

I was initially a bit torn between Argo and Zero Dark Thirty. I liked both of them because they did right what I complained that Lincoln did wrong. In the end, I’m going to have to go with Argo. It was slightly better for me. That sort of related back to how great the directing was for Argo. Affleck did great. I still feel bad for the poor dude. But hey, he’s been racking up all of the other awards. I’m sure the Oscars know that they effed up at this point.

Leave a Reply

