Music

ORIGINAL SONG:

“Before My Time” from “Chasing Ice,”: Beautiful composition. The lyrics are alright…
“Everybody Needs a Best Friend” from “Ted,”: Um… it’s cute. But lol. I don’t think it should win.
“Pi’s Lullaby” from “Life of Pi,”: So, I don’t speak Tamil. Therefore, I don’t have a clue what the actual lyrics are. And even if they’re translated in English, it’s obviously not the same thing; the actual vocabulary and word choice is what makes the lyrics good/bad.
“Skyfall” from “Skyfall,”: Please no. It was a good song. But Adele could have done more with it. It had a bit of a bond-esque feel to it, but alongside that it felt cartoony and lazy to me. I’m actually being extra-mean now. It’s a good song. But I really don’t want Adele to snub this award. She’s done so much better, and this song is incredibly overrated in my opinion.
“Suddenly” from “Les Miserables,”: This wasn’t from the original soundtrack? I haven’t seen the actual musical, which I thought this was based upon. Anyways, the song is better than a lot in the film. So, it’s great if this is an original. This song sounds beautiful and I adore the lyrics. As far as the actual singing goes, it’s good. Jackman has a pretty good voice, he’s not a singer though. I have to admit though, I kind of liked the fact that it wasn’t perfect. It added to the mood of the song for me.

ORIGINAL SCORE:

“Anna Karenina”: I LOVED the score for this film. It had a very mystical feel. A lot of the time I was getting a lot more out of the actual compositions than the dialogue.
“Argo”: The score was brilliant and extremely dramatic. The matching of music was perfection.
“Life of Pi”: Oh my goodness. This score was so magical. It’s so theatrical and although you can feel a connection between all of the songs, there’s is a vast range of emotions throughout.
“Lincoln”: The score was great. Very theatrical and dramatic as well. There was actually one part a liked in particular, which was the reoccurring music throughout which I believe was the same thing. I assume it’s the movie’s actual theme music if it has any. I will look into it.
“Skyfall”: It was classy at times, but a little cliche at others. Overall, I liked the score. Not my favourite of the nominated soundtracks though.

I’m quite torn between a few. I started at Argo, but my gut told me to go with Anna Karenina.

Leave a Reply

